Any mental hoarders out there?

Does anyone else out there hoard thoughts, memories, obscure facts, jingles, ephemera, trivia, minutia, etc., like others hoard newspapers, dried-out pens and last month’s half-eaten pizza?

Anyone else ever feel as if your brain is an attic with too much clutter from facts, trivia, song passages, memories that are no longer needed? Does it leave no room to store important things, such as your nephew’s anniversary, an appointment, the location of an overdue bill, the fact that your mom had a tooth pulled two days ago and might need a phone call?

Why can’t we call in the experts?

Wouldn’t it be cool if there were a business like “Got Junk?” to de-clutter your brain, and cart away all the unnecessary stuff? As I go through my brain I’ve already found a few things I’d get ready for the truck. Here is just a very small sampling:

Entire dialogs from certain Sponge Bob episodes
The disco music that accompanied the “Corn Silk” makeup TV commercial in the 60s (It sounded something like the Zombies’ “Time of the Season.”
The names of every one of my grade school teachers: Sister Maria Stella Maris, Miss Welding, Miss Kallam, Sister Mary Boniface, Sister Paul Mary, Sister Dennis Mary…and their disrespectful nicknames: Melon Head, Pruny, etc.
Lyrics from one-hit wonders of the 1970s
“Chumbawumba”
Carter’s Spankypants
The introductory guitar riffs from obscure songs on the B-sides of long-forgotten albums
Songs that “Miss Worm” sang on Captain Kangaroo
“Tantum Ergo” and other Catholic hymns in Latin, unsung since the third grade.
Names of the children and spouses of people I met 16 years ago, but not their last names.
The menus of nearly every wedding I ever attended
Phone numbers of childhood friends who moved a long time ago. I can’t remember their new phone numbers.
Names of all the boats that used to dock next to my first husband’s boat 30 years ago.

While I am digging up more, I’d love to hear about what others might add to the pile from their own personal stash. Weigh in!

3 thoughts on “Any mental hoarders out there?

  1. I’m the opposite! I wish I remembered more. There was an interesting show on TV about a woman who remembers every detail about her life. Literally remembers everything. Below is a link to the article.

    http://abcnews.go.com/Health/story?id=4813052&page=1

    p.s. HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!!!

  2. The opening scenes from every original Star Trek episode
    The toiletries pack from every business class seat I’ve ever had
    Lanyards from industry conferences
    Lyrics to high impact aerobics classes I taught decades ago
    The outfits I work to high impact aerobics classes decades ago (God they need to go…)
    The verbatim discussion of every hard break-up, argument, confrontation, etc (talk about mental baggage…)
    Every pen, note pad and toiletry from every hotel where I have ever stayed…and I keep the dried pens too!
    Yikes!

  3. The good ones all seem to come from the first half of my 70 years:

    The theme whistle from “The Andy Griffith Show”
    WKRP in Cincinnati: “As God is my witness, I thought turkeys could fly!”
    The smell of pink “perfume” for little girls: roses and who-knows-what-else.
    LPs that I play once every couple of years despite the fact that the music is overdubbed with scratches and sometimes peanut butter.
    Red tide at night. If you don’t know what that is, there isn’t any way to tell you about it.

    I wouldn’t–couldn’t–give up any of them.

Leave a Reply

